top of page
Pablo Marquez © Kevin Seddiki.jpeg

Recital with Pablo Márquez (ARG)

Saturday 11th May / 7pm

Auditorium (Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg)

free entry / without reservation

Programme TBD

Regarded as one of the most accomplished and complete musicians of our time, Pablo Márquez takes the guitar to rare levels of expression, combining spontaneity and profound intellectual rigour. The extraordinary extent of his repertoire, which embraces the full historical spectrum from the earliest lute and vihuela publications to the most recent and sophisticated contemporary works – which are often dedicated to him – is unanimously admired. 

 

His name is always associated with a unique sound, as evidenced by his numerous recordings for ECM and other labels. Each of his registers has become a reference, whatever the repertoire engraved. Awards such as the Grand Prix du Disque Charles Cros or the Japan Record Academy Award bear witness of this, as do the countless reactions from the press.

 

The New York Times wrote of his sensational 2007 ECM debut – the legendary label's very first classical guitar recording – that “Pablo Márquez is an eloquent advocate of Luys de Narváez's contrapuntal mastery and sense of virtuosity”. His latest opus, “Sehnsuch”t, a Schubert recording with the soprano María Cristina Kiehr released in September 2023, was chosen by Classique News as its record event of the autumn. Die Zeit writes about “Die Nacht”, his recording with cellist Anja Lechner: “Anja Lechner and Pablo Márquez enlight the night with Schubert”. Meanwhile, “El Cuchi bien temperado”, dedicated to the music of his compatriot Gustavo Leguizamón, features among the 100 best recordings (in all genres) of 2015, selected by American journalist Ted Gioia. As for “A joyful brotherhood”, his register with pianist Jan Schultsz dedicated to works for guitar and fortepiano by Giuliani, Hummel and Moscheles, it was described as “An enchanted paradise” by the Süddeutsche Zeitung.

 

His discography also includes first recordings of works for guitar and orchestra such as Berio’s “Chemins V” (with Dennis Russel Davies and the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana), Luca Francesconi’s “A fuoco” (with Susanna Mälkki and the Ensemble Intercontemporain), Zad Moultaka’s “Hanblecey”a (with Lorraine Vaillancourt and the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne of Montreal) and Javier Torres Maldonado’s “Fénix” by with Maurizio Grandinetti, Jürg Henneberger and the Phoenix Ensemble. A second live-recording of Berio’s “Chemins V” with Jean-Michaël Lavoie and the WDR Sinfonieorchester of Cologne was awarded with the prestigious Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

 

Pablo Márquez studied guitar in Argentina with Jorge Martínez Zárate and Eduardo Fernández. At the age of twenty he unanimously won the Villa-Lobos competition in Rio de Janeiro and the Concours de Radio France in Paris, the most prestigious guitar competition at the time. He then studied conducting with Rodolfo Fischer and Peter Eötvös, and followed the teaching of the legendary pianist György Sebök, who would deeply mark his artistic development.

 

His career has flourished in more than 40 countries, being acclaimed in the finest concert halls (Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, National Concert Hall in Taipei, Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg...), and at major festivals (Aix-en-Provence, Avignon, Ultraschall in Berlin, San Sebastián, Ticino Musica...), both in recital and in partnership with Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Dino Saluzzi, Anne Gastinel, Mario Caroli and the Quatuor Voce. He appears as a soloist with the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Orchestra, the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia and the Orquesta de Valencia.

 

He has worked with some of the greatest composers of our time, such as Luciano BerioMauricio Kagel and György Kurtág. On the occasion of Berio's 70th birthday, Pierre Boulez invited him to perform “Sequenza XI” by the Italian composer, a work for which he has become the benchmark performer. With New Music at the heart of his priorities, he has premiered no less than thirty works dedicated to him by composers such as Zad Moultaka, Martin Matalon, Fuminori Tanada, Oscar Strasnoy, Ramón Lazkano or Arthur Kampela.

 

As a conductor, he founded the KlangMundo Kammerorchester in Basel, an ensemble dedicated to exploring the soundscapes of the world's different cultures, combining music with action in the fields of human rights, ecology and humanitarianism. With this orchestra, he has already recorded Eduardo Falú's Suite Argentina for ECM (forthcoming), with Fabián Cardozo as soloist.

 

Pablo Márquez is not only a sought-after virtuoso, but also a highly demanded teacher. His class at the Musik-Akademie in Basel is one of the most respected ones and he gives master-classes all around the world. He was awarded a “Chitarra d'oro” in Milan for his video of Ponce's “Folia Variations”, as well as one of a Konex Prize in Buenos Aires in recognition of his entire career.

bottom of page

top of page
Pablo Marquez © Kevin Seddiki.jpeg

Récital avec Pablo Márquez (ARG)

Samedi 11 mai / 19h00

Auditorium (Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg)

entrée libre / sans réservation

Programme TBD

Considéré comme l’un des musiciens les plus accomplis et complets de la scène actuelle, Pablo Márquez porte la guitare à des niveaux d’expression rares, alliant spontanéité et une profonde rigueur intellectuelle. L’étendue hors du commun de son répertoire, qui embrasse le spectre historique complet depuis les toutes premières publications pour luth et vihuela jusqu’aux œuvres contemporaines les plus récentes et sophistiquées – qui lui sont souvent dédiées –, fait l’objet d’une admiration unanime. 

 

Son nom est toujours associé à une sonorité sans égale dont les nombreux enregistrements chez ECM et d’autres labels témoignent. De fait, chacun de ses registres est devenu une référence, quel que soit le répertoire gravé. En attestent des récompenses telles que le Grand Prix du Disque Charles Cros ou le Japan Record Academy Award, ainsi que les innombrables réactions de la presse. 

 

Ainsi, au sujet de son premier disque chez ECM qui fit sensation en 2007 – par ailleurs le tout premier enregistrement de guitare classique de ce label mythique –, le New York Times écrivait : “Pablo Márquez est un avocat éloquent de la maîtrise contrapuntique et du sens de la virtuosité chez Luys de Narváez”. Le dernier opus, intitulé “Sehnsucht”, un enregistrement Schubert avec la soprano María Cristina Kiehr sorti en septiembre 2023, a été choisi par Classique News comme son évènement discographique de la rentrée. Au sujet de “Die Nacht”, son disque avec la violoncelliste Anja Lechner, Die Zeit écrit : “Anja Lechner et Pablo Márquez éclairent la nuit avec Schubert”. De son côté, “El Cuchi bien temperado”, dédié à la musique de son compatriote Gustavo Leguizamón, figure parmi les 100 meilleurs enregistrements (tous genres confondus) de l’année 2015, sélectionnés par le journaliste américain Ted Gioia. Quant à “A joyful brotherhood”, son registre avec le pianiste Jan Schultsz dédié aux oeuvres pour guitare et fortepiano de Giuliani, Hummel et Moscheles, il a été décrit comme “Un paradis enchanté” par le Süddeutsche Zeitung. 

 

Sa discographie inclut en outre les premiers enregistrements d’œuvres concertantes telles que “Chemins V” de Berio (avec Dennis Russel Davies et l’Orchestra della Svizzera italiana), “A fuoco” de Luca Francesconi (avec Susanna Mälkki et l’Ensemble Intercontemporain), “Hanbleceya” de Zad Moultaka (avec Lorraine Vaillancourt et le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne de Montréal) et “Fénix” de Javier Torres Maldonado (avec Maurizio Grandinetti, Jürg Henneberger et l’Ensemble Phoenix). Un deuxième enregistrement de “Chemins V” de Berio avec Jean-Michaël Lavoie et l’Orchestre de la WDR de Cologne reçut le prestigieux Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

 

Pablo Márquez a fait ses études de guitare en Argentine avec Jorge Martínez Zárate et Eduardo Fernández. A l’âge de vingt ans il remporte à l’unanimité le concours Villa-Lobos de Rio de Janeiro et celui de Radio France à Paris, la plus préstigieuse compétition guitaristique d’alors. Il étudie la direction d’orchestre avec Rodolfo Fischer et Peter Eötvös, et suit l’enseignement du légendaire pianiste György Sebök qui marquera profondément son évolution artistique.

 

Sa carrière s’épanouit dans plus de 40 pays, étant acclamé dans les plus belles salles (Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, Elbphilharmonie d’Hambourg, Teatro Colón de Buenos Aires, Théâtre du Châtelet à Paris...), dans de grands festivals (Aix-en-Provence, Avignon, Ultraschall à Berlin, Musica à Strasbourg, San Sebastián...), aussi bien en récital qu’en partenariat avec Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Dino Saluzzi, Anne Gastinel, Mario Caroli ou le Quatuor Voce. Il apparaît comme soliste avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, l’Orchestre de la Radio Bavaroise, l’Orchestre de la WDR à Cologne, le Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, l’Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia et l’Orquesta de Valencia.

 

Il a travaillé en collaboration avec les plus grands créateurs de notre temps, notamment Luciano Berio, Mauricio Kagel et György Kurtág. Pierre Boulez l'invite, à l'occasion du 70ème anniversaire de Berio, à interpréter la “Sequenza XI” du compositeur italien, œuvre dont il devient l’interprète de référence. La création étant au centre de ses priorités, il a suscité pas moins de trente œuvres de compositeurs tels que Zad Moultaka, Martin Matalon, Fuminori Tanada, Oscar Strasnoy, Ramón Lazkano ou Arthur Kampela. 

 

En tant que chef d’orchestre, il a créé le KlangMundo Kammerorchester à Bâle, un ensemble destiné à explorer les paysages sonores des différentes cultures du monde et qui combine musique avec des actions dans le domaine des droits de l’homme, l’écologie et l’humanitaire. Avec cet orchestre il a déjà enregistré pour ECM (à paraître) la “Suite Argentina” d’Eduardo Falú avec Fabián Cardozo en tant que soliste.

 

Pablo Márquez einseigne à la Musik-Akademie de Bâle et donne des master-classes dans le monde entier. Il a reçu une “Chitarra d’oro” à Milan pour sa vidéo des Folies d’Espagne de Ponce, ainsi que l’un des Prix Konex à Buenos Aires en reconnaissance de l’ensemble de sa carrière.

bottom of page