top of page
02 2018 Catharina&Mike-0334.jpg

Mandolin masterclass with

Caterina Lichtenberg and Mike Marshall

Saturday 22nd October / 2-5pm

Studio - Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg

Free entrance / Open to the public

In collaboration with the Ensemble à Plectre Municipal of Esch/Alzette

Masterclass for advanced students of the conservatories and music schools in Luxembourg.

free entrance

Caterina Lichtenberg is one of the most important mandolinists of our time. She has recorded over 10 CDs to date and has toured throughout the U.S., Europe and Asia with guitarist Mirko Schader, harpsichordist Brigitte Engelhard, Quartetto MaGiCo, Le Son d´Argent, the LA Guitar Quartet and Mike Marshall.

 

She has performed as a featured soloist with a number of distinguished symphonic, chamber, and radio orchestras, including the MDR Orchestra under Fabio Luisi, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra under Riccardo Chailly, and the New Century Orchestra under Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg.

 

Caterina currently holds the only existing Professor position for classical mandolin at the Music Conservatory in Cologne, Germany. She is also the classical mandolin teacher for the ArtistWorks online music school.

 

Mike Marshall has been at the forefront of the American string music scene for over 35 years. He has released over 30 CDs spanning a wide musical spectrum from Contemporary Bluegrass to Brazilian Choro, Swing, Classical and original New Music. Mike has toured and recorded with David Grisman, Stephan Grappelli, Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer, Chris Thile, Bela Fleck, Darol Anger and Mark OConnor to name a few.

 

He currently directs the Mandolin Symposium at the University of California in Santa Cruz and the online “Mike Marshall School of Mandolin” through the ArtistWorks Company. He is also a partner in the Adventure Music label.

 

Caterina and Mike met in 2007 when Caterina was invited to teach at the Mandolin Symposium in Santa Cruz, California.

 

They have released two CDs on Mike’s Adventure Music label. The first is a collection of a variety of musical styles spanning classical, Brazilian, Jazz and new music and the second is a recording of the Johann Sebastian Bach Two Part Inventions, Organ Duets and Canons on mandolin and mandocello.

bottom of page

02 2018 Catharina&Mike-0334.jpg

Masterclass de mandoline

avec Caterina Lichtenberg et Mike Marshall

Samedi 22 octobre / 14h00-17h00

Studio - Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg

Entrée libre / Ouvert aux auditeurs

En partenariat avec l'Ensemble à Plectre Municipal d'Esch/Alzette

 

Masterclass pour les étudiants de niveau avancé des Conservatoires et écoles de musique du Luxembourg.

entrée libre

Caterina Lichtenberg est l'une des mandolinistes les plus importantes de notre temps. Elle a enregistré plus de 10 CD et a tourné aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie avec le guitariste Mirko Schader, la claveciniste Brigitte Engelhard, le Quartetto MaGiCo, Le Son d'Argent, le LA Guitar Quartet et Mike Marshall.

 

Elle s'est produite en tant que soliste avec de nombreux orchestres symphoniques, de chambre et de radio, dont l'Orchestre du MDR sous la direction de Fabio Luisi, l'Orchestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig sous la direction de Riccardo Chailly et l'Orchestre du Nouveau Siècle sous la direction de Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg.

 

Caterina occupe actuellement le seul poste de professeur de mandoline classique existant au Conservatoire de musique de Cologne en Allemagne. Elle est également professeure de mandoline classique à l'école de musique en ligne ArtistWorks.

 

Mike Marshall est au sommet de la scène de la musique à cordes américaine depuis plus de 35 ans. Il a sorti plus de 30 CD couvrant un large éventail musical allant du bluegrass contemporain au choro brésilien, en passant par le swing, la musique classique et la musique contemporaine. Mike a tourné et enregistré avec David Grisman, Stephan Grappelli, Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer, Chris Thile, Bela Fleck, Darol Anger et Mark OConnor, pour ne citer que quelques-uns.

 

Actuellement, il dirige le Symposium de mandoline à l'université de Californie à Santa Cruz et la « Mike Marshall School of Mandolin » en ligne par le biais de la société ArtistWorks. Il est également partenaire du label Adventure Music.

 

Caterina et Mike se sont rencontrés en 2007 lorsque Caterina a été invitée à enseigner au Symposium de mandoline à Santa Cruz en Californie.

 

Ils ont sorti deux CD sur le label Adventure Music de Mike. Le premier est une collection de styles musicaux variés allant du classique au brésilien en passant par le jazz et la musique contemporaine. Le second est un enregistrement des Inventions à deux voix, de duos d’orgue et de canons de Johann Sebastian Bach sur mandoline et mandocello.